Apps, Telegram

Telegram ‘Last Seen Recently’: All You Need to Know

BY Sourav

-

last-seen-recently-telegram
Sourav

Telegram is an instant messaging app that has similar features to Whatsapp and Signal. The app is popular because of its extensive privacy settings.

The ‘last seen’ feature of Telegram reveals the time and date of the user’s most recent online appearance. Here, we will discuss what “Last seen recently” on Telegram mean and how to manage and hide the status from some specific Telegram users.

What Does ‘Last Seen Recently’ on Telegram Mean?

An individual’s ‘last seen recently’ is an estimate of their most recent online time, which may be anything from a few seconds to several days in the past. In case someone has hidden their “last seen,” then you can see the ‘last seen recently’ status instead of an accurate timestamp. 

Telegram uses four types of values or timestamps to suggest when a user was last online on the app, those are:

  • Last seen recently: the user was previously online between one second to two to three days.
  • Last seen within a week: the user was online between two to seven days.
  • Last seen within a month: Between seven days to one month.
  • Last seen a long time ago: the user has not opened the Telegram app for a month or the user has blocked you.

How to Manage The ‘Last Seen Recently’ Status on Telegram?

Like other messaging apps Telegram also allows users to hide their last seen status from other users. So, manage your “Last seen recently” setting on Telegram by following the steps below.

  • Open Telegram on your device and tap on the hamburger menu located in the left corner.
  • Tap on Settings from the next menu.
  • Scroll down and select the Privacy and Security option.
  • Next, tap Last Seen & Online.
  • You will find three options under the Who can see me last seen?
    • Everybody
    • My Contacts
    • Nobody

If you select “Everybody,” then even people who are not in your phone contact can see your last seen with the date and time.

If you select “My Contacts,” then people who are on your contact list and available on Telegram can see your last seen timestamp.

If you select “Nobody,” no one will be able to see your last seen instead they will only see “Last seen recently.” 

  • You can choose your preferred alternatives. Keep in mind, if you hide your last seen from others, you will not be able to view other people’s last seen anymore.

How to Hide Last Seen from Someone on Telegram?

You can hide your last seen timestamp from some specific users on Telegram. Telegram comes with a ‘Never Share With’ option where you can add selective users who will no longer be able to see your last seen. Here are the steps that you need to follow:

  • Open Telegram and tap on the hamburger (three horizontal lines) menu from the left corner.
  • Tap on Settings.
  • Select the Privacy and Security option and tap on Last Seen & Online.
settings-telegram
privacy-and-security-telegram-1
last-seen-and-online-telegram-1
  • Under the Add exceptions tab, select the Never Share With option and add the contacts in it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can bots see your Telegram last seen?

No, Telegram bots cannot see your last seen or phone number unless you share it. However, information such as your username, profile picture, and messages sent to the bots are visible to them.

Does not being able to see the last seen mean you are blocked?

No, if you are not able to see someone’s last seen on Telegram doesn’t necessarily mean that you are blocked by that user. The user simply can hide their last seen status for some privacy reasons or they have been inactive on Telegram. If you continue to receive this error for more than six months, the individual may have blocked you. This is because Telegram has implemented a self-destruction tool that deletes dormant or inactive Telegram accounts after six months.

Final Words

This is all about ‘last seen recently’ on Telegram. Although it’s a great feature to keep track of all your contacts, it can also cause privacy problems. Since Telegram provides several privacy options, if you don’t want everyone to see your last online status, you can hide the last seen or choose only your preferred person to show the last seen timestamp. Hopefully, this article solves your query about what it is and how it works.

About The Author

Sourav

Sourav’s been working as a freelance writer and blogger for over five years. She is a firm believer in big dreams and realizing them. Her work has been published in Women On Writing, Be a Freelance Blogger, Make a Living Writing and Brazen Careerist among others