iPhone

If I Reset My iPhone Will I Lose Everything?

BY Sourav

-

reset-iphone
Sourav

Many iOS users are not familiar with resetting their devices. This is because all users don’t need to reset their devices without any reason. But one must reset the device if iPhone faces problems like no sound during calls, frozen apps, etc.  

However, people dread the resetting process because they fear losing their data. A question always comes to their mind “if I reset my iPhone, will I lose everything? It will mainly depend on what kind of reset method you performed with your iPhone. This is actually what we’ll discuss in this post. 

So, if you’re eager to know what exactly happens when you factory reset your iPhone, go through this article to learn about the process.

If I Reset My iPhone Will I Lose Everything?

Resetting an iPhone with different methods can cause different results. One resetting process is if you use it, there will be no data loss, while the other one will delete all data from your iPhone. 

Reset all settings – If you only reset the settings of your iPhone, then it will not remove all saved files and data on your iPhone. It means you can use this option whenever you want to fix minor glitches on your iPhone. 

Erase All Content and Settings – In case you select this option, all saved data will be removed from your iPhone, and your iPhone will become as new as it was when you bought it.

Different Methods to Reset My iPhone Without Losing Everything

Now, as you get the answer to your query that if I reset my iPhone, will I lose everything, let’s move to the process of how to do this. Here we explain all the processes to reset your iPhone without losing everything. 

Method #1: Reset Your iPhone Using the Reset All Settings Option

If you don’t want to lose any data, you can use the Reset All Settings option.  Using this method, you may reset your iPhone’s basic settings without erasing any of your other data. You will lose access to your iPhone’s network settings (WiFi and Bluetooth) along with the General and Privacy settings. However, other data such as pictures, videos, music, and messages will remain saved in the device.

To reset your phone using the Reset All Settings option, you need to go to your iPhone Settings> General> Reset> Reset All Settings

Note: Here, be careful not to choose the Erase All Content and Settings option; otherwise, you’ll lose all data from your iPhone. 

Method #2: Reset Your Phone After iCloud or iTunes Backup

As mentioned earlier, If you choose Erase All Content and Settings option, all data will b whipped out from your iPhone. But if you can keep a backup of your data, then you can reset your iPhone without worrying about losing everything. 

So, before you get ready to reset your phone make sure to create a backup of your data on iCloud or iTunes. Here’s how to do it:

Creating iCloud Backup

  • Open Settings on your iPhone and tap on your name.
  • Now tap on iCloud> iCloud Backup.
  • Toggle right the button next to iCloud Backup on the next screen to enable iCloud backup.

Creating iTunes Backup

  • On your PC, open iTunes. 
  • Connect your iPhone to the PC using a USB cable. 
  • Give permission on your iPhone to let your PC access your files.
  • Now, select your device in iTunes and click on Summary.
  • Under the backup tab, click on Back up now.

Once you have created a backup of your data, it is safe to factory reset your phone. As you have created a backup prior to the reset, you can restore all your messages, photos, videos, contacts, music, Safari history, etc.

Here are the steps that you have to follow in order to restore your iPhone data from iTunes and iCloud.

Restoring Data from iCloud

  • Plug your iPhone into power and connect it to a WiFi network.
  • Navigate to App & Data> Restore from iCloud Backup 
  • Use your credentials to log in to iCloud.
  • Choose backup from the list and wait until the process gets completed.

Restoring Data from iTunes

  • Connect your iPhone to your PC and open iTunes on your PC.
  • Select your iOS device from the list displayed in iTunes.
  • From the Summary option, choose the iPhone backup you want to restore.
  • Now, click Restore Backup.

Conclusion

Now that you got a clear answer to one of the most asked iPhone-related questions, i.e., “if I reset my iPhone, will I lose everything?” we hope you will not be afraid of resetting your iPhone (when necessary) anymore. Just don’t forget to create a backup and then you don’t need to worry about losing your personal data.

About The Author

Sourav

Sourav’s been working as a freelance writer and blogger for over five years. She is a firm believer in big dreams and realizing them. Her work has been published in Women On Writing, Be a Freelance Blogger, Make a Living Writing and Brazen Careerist among others

Leave a Comment