Snapchat

How to Delete Snapchat Messages the Other Person Saved

BY Sourav

-

delete-snapchat-message
Sourav

Snapchat comes with some great features that make it one of the most used applications globally. The platform is great fun for adding filters to photos and videos, sharing stories, creating your bitmoji avatar, chatting, etc. Especially you can send unlimited text messages and Snaps every day to friends. But things can get awkward if you accidentally send a message you might not plan to and regret later.

Though Snapchat messages automatically disappear after viewing them, the main issue may bother you when the other person has saved the chats.

So, if you want to delete saved messages on a chat, here’s what you need to do.

How to delete Snapchat messages the other person saved?

To delete Snapchat messages the other person saved, follow these steps:

Step 1. Log in to Snapchat

First and foremost, you need to log in to your Snapchat on an Android or iOS device.

Step 2. Open the desired chat

Next, open the chat that has the messages the other person saved.

Step 3. Long press saved messages

Long press on the saved message that you want to delete. You’ll get five options, which are Save in Chat, Copy, Chat Reply, Snap Reply, and Delete. Skip all the options and go for the Delete option.

Step 4. Delete the message

Tap Delete in order to delete saved Snapchat messages the other person saved.

Step 5. Continue with “Learn More’ or “Ok”

Once you choose Delete, Snapchat will display a pop-up with either Learn More or Ok option. The first one generally appears if you’re trying the delete feature for the first time. If not, then tap Ok.

Note: When you delete a message, Snapchat will try to remove it from their servers and the other person’s devices. But that might not always work if that person has bad internet connectivity or uses an older version of the app. In that case, the deleted message may still appear for a short moment. Another case is that if the person chooses to take a screenshot on Snapchat and export it to the camera roll, you can’t delete it.

Step 6. Tap “Delete Chat”

Finally, simply tap Delete Chat to delete the message. You’re done.

Remember, if you saved the message at some point and want to delete it, you’ll need to unsave it first. To unsave Snapchat messages, simply press and hold the message and select “Unsave”.

Also note that, when you delete a chat or Snap, the other person will receive an in-chat notification about the deletion.

Alternative methods to delete saved messages on Snapchat by the other person

Block the other person

If you want to delete all messages on Snapchat that the other person saved, you can just block them. Once the person is blocked, you’ll see that the entire conversation vanished from your Snapchat account and it’ll delete from the other person’s end too.

Blocking someone on Snapchat will delete all the messages from both ends. Here’s how to do it:

  • Open Snapchat and navigate to the chat.
  • Find that person’s profile and select to open it.
  • Go to the three dots icon to open Settings and select Block.

Once it’s done, all the messages, including saved ones from the conversation, will be deleted from both of your inboxes.

Delete your Snapchat

If you’re truly worried about what you shared and that is something private or sensitive, you can take this step as the last option. In order to delete the Snapchat messages the other person saved, simply submit a request to the Snapchat Team to delete your account. This will automatically erase all the data, including saved messages, from their servers after 30 days.

Can you delete Snapchat messages automatically?

Yes, you can delete Snapchat messages automatically by changing the chat duration. It’s a quick process to follow:

  • Swipe right from your Snapchat camera screen to go to Chat.
  • Long press on the friend’s name.
  • Tap More.
  • Tap Delete Chats.
  • Select an option either After Viewing or 24 Hours after Viewing.

Afterward, the messages will be deleted right after the other person views it or after 24 hours it has been viewed.

So, if you select “After Viewing, next time when you send a message or Snap, they will be removed once they’re seen. It saves you a lot of time rather than manually deleting them.

Frequently Asked Questions

How to permanently delete Snapchat messages from both sides?

Simply long-press on the message and select Delete. When the pop-up appears, choose “Learn More” if you’re doing it the first time or otherwise, choose Ok” and tap the Delete option.
When the person opens the ghost icon, they won’t view the saved messages.

Does blocking someone on Snapchat delete their messages?

Yes, blocking someone on Snapchat deletes all their data, including messages. It’s a quick way to delete a Snapchat other person saved.
Even if you’ve saved messages from their chat, blocking them will prevent you from accessing them.

Does removing someone on Snapchat delete their messages?

Unfortunately, no. If you remove someone on Snapchat, they can still access the messages and Snaps in the chat as long as they’re saved.

Conclusion

These are the easiest ways you can delete Snapchat messages the other person saved. We’ve provided methods for a single message or the entire conversation. So, choose as per your convenience and also be aware before sending something you didn’t intend to.

If you get into any difficulties while trying out the steps, feel free to inform us and we’ll solve it as soon as possible.

About The Author

Sourav

Sourav’s been working as a freelance writer and blogger for over five years. She is a firm believer in big dreams and realizing them. Her work has been published in Women On Writing, Be a Freelance Blogger, Make a Living Writing and Brazen Careerist among others